Platform Banner

Teams - Manage Privacy in Private Channels Tutorial

Private channels create a dedicated collaboration space for a subset of team members. The creator becomes the owner and can add or remove members, assign roles, and restrict permissions. Only core team members or guests who are allowed can be added. New members see prior conversations, while non-members cannot access the channel’s conversations or files. Managing a private channel involves adjusting member lists and channel-specific settings, and a separate SharePoint site is created for its files.

00:00:06
reserved for some of the members of a team.
00:00:09
They are useful when a group is working on a particular project
00:00:13
without needing to create another team
00:00:15
or when certain discussions involve sensitive information
00:00:19
such as a budget or strategic positioning.
00:00:22
Only owners and members of the private channel can view it and access its content.
00:00:27
By default,
00:00:28
team members can usually create a private channel,
00:00:31
but guests cannot.
00:00:33
However,
00:00:33
the team owner can limit this possibility in the team settings.
00:00:38
The Microsoft 365 admin
00:00:40
can also enforce a more restrictive policy.
00:00:43
The person who creates a private channel becomes the owner of it.
00:00:48
They can add or remove members and assign the owner role to others.
00:00:53
To add someone to a private channel
00:00:56
they must already be from the core team.
00:00:58
This rule also applies to guests.
00:01:01
When a new member joins the channel,
00:01:03
they can view conversations posted before they arrived.
00:01:07
The team owner can see that a private channel exists from channel management.
00:01:12
However,
00:01:12
if they are not a member of this channel,
00:01:14
they cannot open their
00:01:16
conversations or files.
00:01:18
The channel also doesn't appear in its usual list of channels.
00:01:22
To manage a private channel,
00:01:24
open its options,
00:01:26
then click manage channel.
00:01:29
In the members tab you can add or
00:01:32
remove people and change their role
00:01:34
in the settings you can adjust channel specific permissions
00:01:38
such as actions allowed to members,
00:01:41
mentions,
00:01:42
or the use of gifts,
00:01:43
stickers,
00:01:44
and memes.
00:01:45
Finally,
00:01:46
files in a private channel are not stored
00:01:48
with documents in the team standard channels.
00:01:52
Creating the channel generates a separate SharePoint site
00:01:56
that is accessible only to members of the private channel.
00:01:59
This keeps conversations and documents limited to
00:02:03
the group of people you've chosen.

No elements match your search in this video....
Do another search or back to content !

 

Mandarine AI: WHAT YOU SHOULD KNOW

Reminder

Show