Platform Banner

Teams - Secure Your Teams from the Moment They Are Created Tutorial

Open the private team to see how its linked SharePoint site stores team documents. Learn how public vs. private teams affect access, then adjust site permissions to control sharing. Navigate to the SharePoint settings from the team’s Shared tab, and choose between open, balanced, or restricted sharing, or disable access requests to limit sharing to members only.

00:00:07
it automatically results in the creation of a SharePoint team site linked to it.
00:00:12
It's this SharePoint site that stores all the documents you share within your team.
00:00:18
The choice to create a public or private team
00:00:22
therefore has a direct impact on the level of protection of this information.
00:00:27
A public team can be joined by anyone in your organization.
00:00:30
A private team offers a higher level of security.
00:00:34
You decide for yourself who is part of it,
00:00:37
and anyone who wants to join you must first apply.
00:00:41
In both cases,
00:00:42
the rules defined by your organization for SharePoint
00:00:46
team sites then apply to document sharing.
00:00:49
If your organization allows it,
00:00:51
your team members can share SharePoint site
00:00:54
documents with internal or external collaborators,
00:00:57
even if they're not part of the team.
00:00:59
And as an owner,
00:01:00
you have no visibility into these shares by default.
00:01:04
However,
00:01:04
it is possible to configure
00:01:06
the underlying SharePoint site to regain control of the sharing.
00:01:11
Start by opening or creating a private team and teams.
00:01:15
From the shared tab of a channel,
00:01:17
click the three dots in the top right
00:01:19
and then choose open and SharePoint.
00:01:22
Click settings,
00:01:23
select site permissions,
00:01:25
then go to the site sharing options.
00:01:28
The default option is an open sharing option.
00:01:31
Owners,
00:01:32
members,
00:01:32
and users with edit access
00:01:35
can share files,
00:01:36
folders,
00:01:37
and the site.
00:01:38
The second choice is a balanced sharing option.
00:01:42
Users with edit access can share files and folders,
00:01:46
but only owners can share the site.
00:01:48
The 3rd possibility is a restricted sharing setting.
00:01:52
Only owners can share files,
00:01:55
folders,
00:01:56
or the site.
00:01:58
Finally you can disable access requests entirely.
00:02:02
No more collaborators will be able to request access to your team
00:02:06
or its documents,
00:02:07
and members will be strictly limited to sharing with each other.
00:02:12
Now you know how choosing a public or private team
00:02:15
affects the security of your documents
00:02:18
and how to regain control over their sharing
00:02:21
by configuring the permissions of the associated SharePoint site.

No elements match your search in this video....
Do another search or back to content !

 

Mandarine AI: WHAT YOU SHOULD KNOW

Reminder

Show